CFA Teams

Broyhill Fellows

Each year four to five members are selected from the Bowden Investment Group to participate in the annual CFA Research Challenge. The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that provides university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work with a mentor and are tested on their ability to value a stock, write an analyst report, and present their recommendations.

The Bowden Invesment Group has made a name for itself competing with top schools around the country. The BIG Broyhill Fellows Team has had great success in this challenge. Each year the group competes with some of the top business schools in the nation, some of which are composed of graduate students. Appalachian has become the "school to beat" in the NC CFA Research Challenge and we look forward to continuing this legacy in the future. 

Learn more about the history of the Broyhill name and read recent news posts about the Bowden Investment Group.

CFA Challenge Teams



Left to right: Zach Stowell, Sean James, Obi Ludwig, Sam Crouse, and Olivia Guillebeau



Left to right: David Franco, Nathan Hughes, Ana Melone, and Jacob Wiley


Left to right: Andrew Crumpler, Neil Agnew, Madeline Hamiter, and Josh Lee


Left to right: Jeff Bennett, John Miller, Andrew Hanley, Daniel Sullivan & Amalia Milles


Left to right: Charles Plummer, Mac Shelton, Hollie Brown, Jarrett Jacumin, & John Mosser


Left to Right: Andrew Johnson, Darrow Goff, Amanda Carter, MacGregor Shepard, Aaron Martschenko


Left to Right: Caitlin Owings, Matt Wine, Nathan Birmingham, and Brett Featherstone


Left to Right: Zach Lavasque, Cameron Newell, Madison Bigham, Jack Bishop, Clark Featherstone


Left to Right: Dan Alliss, Jack Gibbs, Ellen Morgan, Alan Clarke, Matthew Vanek


Left to Right: Daniel Favitta, Ethan Foster, Eric McTeir, David Jones, William Strausbaugh


Seated: Bixby Stewart, Taylor Boyle; Standing: Marshall Hargrave, Chris Simmons; Not pictured:Josh Gates